Log in

View Full Version : Build Fith a PC


Fithvael
30-09-2005, 07:09 PM
Pweeeease.

In a great peice of irony, upon declaring i was back in guild chat earlier today the PSU on my PC blew up 5 minutes later. :? And with a month till my birthday i was going to order one then but now i really couldn't care.

I've got roughly £500 to spend as I've got the OS and other crap to buy. I had a go at mooching around and ordering seperately but I'm not too good at it. Heres my effort:

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/cgi-bin/os000001.pl?ACTION=Start
(I don't need a soundcard as im reusing my old one)
If the link doesn't work (im thinking it might not) heres a list:

Asus A8N-E nForce4 Ultra (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-088-AS) 1
£64.95 £64.95
GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC3200 Value Dual Channel Kit CAS2.5 (GE1GB3200BHDC) (MY-005-GL) 1
£61.95 £61.95
Western Digital Caviar Special Edition 80GB 800JD SATA 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-023-WD) 1
£34.50 £34.50
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3000BPBOX) (CP-117-AM) 1
£89.95 £89.95
Leadtek WinFast GeForce 6800 256MB DDR TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-048-LT) 1
£124.95 £124.95
AOpen DUW1608 Chameleon 16x DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter inc. Ivory/Black/Silver Bezels - Retail (CD-007-AO) 1
£25.80 £25.80
Arctic Cooling T1 Silentium Silent Midi Tower Case - 350W Seasonic Silent PSU (CA-000-AR) 1
£49.95 £49.95
OcUK Value Floppy Drive - Silver (CD-001-AP) 1
£6.50 £6.50
Subtotal £458.55
VAT £80.25
Total £538.80

If anyones got some criticism or can just build something better I'd appreciate it.
I also need a keyboard and I can't decide between these: http://www.wolfclaw.com.sg/ (Look at teh buttonz!!!) or http://www.saitek.com/uk/prod/eclipse.htm (It r glowy)

Llort
30-09-2005, 10:01 PM
firstly, I both don't like them keyboards. but that's just my opinion

Secondly

Instead of the 3000+ I would go for the the 3200+ VEry small performance increase for a VERY small extra fee.

Thirdly

I wouldend try to run a 6800GT, amd64 3000+ AND a 80gb-sata on 350watt PSU, really.
That's really NOT advicable.

It will become very unstable, might even crash your computer now and then (since it can't deliver enough current/power when your comp is stressed (idle will work fine)

goodluck with it :]

Drauk
30-09-2005, 10:59 PM
I wouldend try to run a 6800GT, amd64 3000+ AND a 80gb-sata on 350watt PSU, really.
That's really NOT advicable.

It will become very unstable, might even crash your computer now and then (since it can't deliver enough current/power when your comp is stressed (idle will work fine)


Actually you can run 6800 GT and all those hardware on 350 watt PSU, however it has to comply with ATX V2.0 specification, meaning it has increased output in 12 V line. All modern processors and GPU uses 12 V supply instead of old 5 v.



Also i wouldn't recommed at 6800 at all. It has some terrible perfomance issues with WoW :) Get something like ATI X800.[/code]

Abberare
01-10-2005, 01:48 AM
Cheaper and less technical solution for your fantasy gaming needs:
http://www.karatedepot.com/sw-fa-35.html
and pay your local supermarket/post office/pet shop a visit.

Llort
01-10-2005, 04:30 AM
Also i wouldn't recommed at 6800 at all. It has some terrible perfomance issues with WoW :) Get something like ATI X800.

I wonder where that comes from?

I have a XFX 6800GT 256MB (AGP slot)
works like a charm for me?

running 1280*1024 everything at highest, AA @ highest, using twinview (which uses a lot of GPU powern) and still have a decent 30FPS

Drauk
01-10-2005, 08:11 AM
Also i wouldn't recommed at 6800 at all. It has some terrible perfomance issues with WoW :) Get something like ATI X800.

I wonder where that comes from?

I have a XFX 6800GT 256MB (AGP slot)
works like a charm for me?

running 1280*1024 everything at highest, AA @ highest, using twinview (which uses a lot of GPU powern) and still have a decent 30FPS

It comes from harsh personal experience. I have same card, just different manufacturer. Also using 1280x1024. Every single fight in molten core is 15 fps max. Lave packs and imps are 5-8 fps. Its defiently not addons issue, since i having clean UI doesnt help at all. i've tried every thing imaginable, including posting on Blizz tech support forums, changing drivers, making shamanic manupilations with driver settings, turning down all settings (doesnt help either, thats the most amazing part)

There is also quite a lot of ppl with similiar troubles on Tech Support forum, Blizz seems to be aware of the issue, but they cant provide a solution at the time.

Harr
01-10-2005, 08:21 AM
Very much possible the manufacturer uses too cheap/low quality parts on the card.

Drauk
01-10-2005, 08:29 AM
Very much possible the manufacturer uses too cheap/low quality parts on the card.

Doubt that really.Its very decent manufacturer (Leadtek). Not to mention im having 30-40 FPS in HL2 and Doom3 that have much more complicated graphical engines than WoW. And Blizzard have acknowledged problem with GeForce cards.

JeFF
01-10-2005, 10:45 AM
I heard theres more problems with ATI's cards in WoW than with Nvidias cards. Got a GF 6800GT 128MB (Made by Asus) and haven't had any problems at all. One time I even ran WoW with a GeForce 2 mx100/200 (32MB) while I was waiting to get a new card and i actually had 15-20 fps with lowest graphic settings and 1024*768 resolution. :)

And for getting the 3200+ instead of 3000+, in most of Europe the 3200+ is 40-50 euros more expensive than the 3000+ and personally i think its useless to pay that much for that small performance improvement.

And get the Saitek keyboard, the other one just looks like some old people trying to sell shit to younger audience. :lol:

Llort
01-10-2005, 01:36 PM
And for getting the 3200+ instead of 3000+, in most of Europe the 3200+ is 40-50 euros more expensive than the 3000+ and personally i think its useless to pay that much for that small performance improvement.

Hmm, I payed €10 more for my 3200+ :]


Doubt that really.Its very decent manufacturer (Leadtek). Not to mention im having 30-40 FPS in HL2 and Doom3 that have much more complicated graphical engines than WoW. And Blizzard have acknowledged problem with GeForce cards.


(offtopic)
I rAn HL2 1600*1200 on my old CRT, everything highest, 60-70FPS :-o (didnt had twinview back then tough) now on 1x 1280*1024 + 1x 1024*1280 LCDs (identical LCDs) don't know the FPS atm :]
(/offtopic)

Decebalus
03-10-2005, 09:56 AM
if i'm reading right, Fithvael choosed a 6800... not 6800GT... i don't think that you can buy GT at that price...

regarding NVidia... i have a P4 3Ghz, 1GB DDR2, GF 6600GT 128 mb...

i run WoW at maximum details at 1152x864... i have 35-40 fps in Molten Core and about 15-20 fps at Lava packs / Core hounds packs or when there is a celebration in IF (like when we killed Onyxia for the 1st time :D)...

Hephaestos
03-10-2005, 10:07 AM
I'd take this one (http://oldcomputers.net/c64.html)

Abberare
03-10-2005, 02:18 PM
I'd take this one (http://oldcomputers.net/c64.html)

Well Blizzard use them for servers, so it's gotta do.

Karadros
15-10-2005, 04:33 PM
350watt PSU, NOT ENOUGH.

Christ, I couldn't even run a 2600+xp processor and a crappy GeForce 5700LE on that.
FYI - the card was NOT my choice. Surprisingly it was the chjoice of the bloke who TEACHES you about components. The asshat.

Sethanon
15-10-2005, 07:01 PM
Very much possible the manufacturer uses too cheap/low quality parts on the card.

Doubt that really.Its very decent manufacturer (Leadtek). Not to mention im having 30-40 FPS in HL2 and Doom3 that have much more complicated graphical engines than WoW. And Blizzard have acknowledged problem with GeForce cards.

sorry to burst your bubble but leadtek really sucks..

Narrak
31-10-2005, 04:42 PM
Completly off thread poor fith i have had to watch him mooch round not being able to WOW (he is my cousin and got me hooked on wow in the first place damn long haired hippie) its kinda painful on a sunday goin round to see him and recounting tales of funny moments and new discoveries in this wonderful world of wow and lookin at his poor face /sob but soon his bits should be delivered tonight i however will be goin on the piss as it is my birthday good luck dude :)