View Full Version : Mac Vs PC

Muffy
09-10-2009, 04:56 AM
Hello there everyone.

I was wondering what your opinion was about whether I should defect to get a mac or just get another PC.

The 24" Screen version

* 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
* 640GB Serial ATA Drive
* Apple Mighty Mouse
* Apple Keyboard with Numeric Keypad (English) and User's Guide (English)
* NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics

Is it worth paying more for the same spec but the processor is 2.93GHz and NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 256MB memory but It is 400 more.

Thats the spec of mac i'm looking at and I costs like 1,100 from apple with a discount I am eligible for because I work in a Bank.

Is that a descent deal or could I get one cheaper elsewhere?
What do people think of MAC's?
and what kind of PC could I get for that Price?

Thanks to anyone who sheds any light.

Ruoste
09-10-2009, 06:20 AM
Get a PC if you want to play something else than WoW + 2 other games. Macs are PCs anyway with an OS that is not Windows and which has support of only fraction of the games Windows does.

I know you can install Windows on Mac, but what would be the point of getting a Mac then.

Plus Macs are more expensive because you pay for the brand.

Llort
09-10-2009, 08:04 AM
the same spec-ed MAC is faster (with windows on it) than a same spec-ed PC.

That is due the fact apple uses way better hardware configuration and shortens all data paths and thus reducing latency between all components which gives an overall boost.

So I would say, get a MAC if the price difference isn't TOO high. (And if you can afford it of course :P)

Just install native windows on it if you want to play games.

dantheman
09-10-2009, 08:10 AM
Is it worth paying more for the same spec but the processor is 2.93GHz and NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 256MB memory but It is 400 more.

I built a slightly better spec PC than that inc tower etc etc for around 700 from Scan.co.uk

Vegelus
09-10-2009, 09:10 AM