Log in

View Full Version : RRL: Raid Ready Light - looking for beta testers


karatheya
12-03-2009, 09:41 PM
For the past few weeks I've been working on an addon to help me know whether it's OK to pull the next group without constantly asking on vent, or doing ready checks.

The addon has been tested within my guild, and it's now ready for wider testing before I release it to the world via the usual addon sites. I hope that some of you will give it a shot and provide me some feedback.

The Addon is called RRL, the "Raid Ready Light". In short, it's a little traffic light display that lights up green or red based on whether the raid as a whole is ready for you to pull. Whether the raid is ready is based on other people marking themselves as ready or not in their copy of RRL.

Obligatory Screenshot:

http://a-band-apart.com/addons/rrl_minion_and_tooltip_one_not_ready.jpg

You can set the maximum number of not ready people based on the raid type, and set certain people as critical (such as your offtank or MT healer) so that just one of those people being not ready causes the raid as a whole to not be ready.

I've prepared a full writeup on our guild forum:

http://a-band-apart.com/index.php?topic=148

You can read more there, or jump right in by downloading it here:

http://a-band-apart.com/addons/RRL-latest.zip

If you test it out and have any feedback (positive or negative) or suggestions as to how this could be improved, please leave feedback on the A Band Apart forums. Or just find me in game - if needed, I'd be happy to join a raid to collect debug info if you run into any issues.

Cheers

Phanthastic
12-03-2009, 10:32 PM
The entire raid need the addon, I assume?

Ring0
14-03-2009, 03:13 AM
Sounds like a very cool idea. I'm a bit put off by getting the entire raid to have the add-on though.

Perhaps some sort of mana threshold/number of people in range/number of people under 50% HP would work better in general.

Atreyas
21-03-2009, 10:36 AM
Thats a pretty cool idea, but doesnt OrA2 already give you the box when you run a ready check. Isnt that the same thing?

pwnhorde
21-03-2009, 02:49 PM
I assume you can assign a a single person to opperate the setup within the raid so others dont have the functionality to adjust settings?