View Full Version : Screen Freeze

Specker
16-03-2008, 04:57 PM
Basically every now and then my screen keeps on freezing for 0.5-5secs and i've absolutely no clue at all whats causing it. Seems to only have started the last week maybe and i dont think it's my internet connection because my ping stays the same. As well as randomly freezing it happens every time i loot something aswell :( So far i've run anti-virus and spyware removal programs and defragmented my hard drive, but the problem hasn't gone.

Anyone got any ideas how to fix it? Also i have very little knowledge about computers and anything remotely technical, so dumb it down abit please ;) Thanks in advance.

Bunneh
16-03-2008, 05:38 PM
I'm gonna throw in the old chest nut and suggest over heating. Had similar issue back with me old TnT2, thing would freeze up occasionally until I finally ripped the side panel off and blasted a deskfan in there. Clean your PC inside. I use a pastry brush (I kid you not) it's soft and gets the dust off, just make sure you remove the olive oil first :P.

Another suggestion, have you put in a new graphics card of late and if so did you upgrade your power supply as well? Lack of power might be a cause.

I r a bit numb when it comes to 'puters, but those are the two things that seemed to get me out of the most trouble (that and an engineer who never charged me more than a cup of coffee and 5 quid for check over and repair).

Specker
16-03-2008, 06:19 PM
Cheers ill give the whole cleaning thing a go :) And nope i've never done anything to the inside of my PC other than installed a wireless reciever which was quite a while back now anyway.

Flawless
16-03-2008, 06:40 PM
Does this happen on anything? Or just WoW?

Also careful when cleaning the inside of your PC. Use Compressed air, static electricity can fry your system.

Bunneh
17-03-2008, 07:58 PM