View Full Version : Dumb it down for me, i'm old.

Stunted
04-03-2008, 10:54 AM
So i want to buy a new PC at some point this year. I have about £600.00 to spend on one, the main aim of the PC is to play games on.

I am aiming at something that will play Warhammer and Aion with very little problems. I have no technical knowledge of building one myself so that's out of the mix.

I have been looking at Dell, but due to massive outrage on the shout box i'm looking for alternatives. If you doing to start talking RAM/motherboards ect, then explain what the diffrence is as if you talking to a 5 year old as i have no idea other wise.

http://configure.euro.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?b=&c=uk&cs=ukdhs1&kc=DRS42001&l=en&oc=D03X416&rbc=D03X416&s=dhs

Something like that is what i'm after, as i think it will do all that i want it too.

Your thoughts?.

Mischief
04-03-2008, 11:08 AM
I exclusively buy Dell now. I got so sick of the bullshit that is make-your-own that I started buying Dells and I've never looked back. I order them from the small business section because they still do Windows XP for those.

My WoW box cost me £183 delivered. All I had to add was a £70 graphics card. It runs WoW at 1680x1050 with everything turned up to 11.

You should be able to get a box from them that'll run modern games well for well within your budget.

Flawless
04-03-2008, 11:15 AM
Buy the parts and get someone to build it for you. You get unforseen consequences with dell should it go wrong.

Mischief
04-03-2008, 11:34 AM
You get unforseen consequences if you buy the parts and get someone to build it for you should it go wrong.
Fixed.

There are unforseen consequences if it goes wrong wherever you get it from.

TBH, computers are so cheap these days, I just replace them if they give me shit. I've got two shit-giving PCs in the garage right now :)

Vegelus
04-03-2008, 11:38 AM
And You think that Dell/HP/whatsover is better because? Brand name and other shits?