Log in

View Full Version : Wii in HD..?


Eidriaen
23-01-2008, 12:45 PM
Mkay... I got this Samsung TV which supports RGB scart, meaning I can use the RGB scart cable which they say should give the same quality as a component cable.

But.....

When I enter settings and try to adjust the resolution(the whatever-number"p") I cant chose the HD option.


Do I really need the component cable? Or is there another cable I can use?

Oogie
23-01-2008, 12:58 PM
AFAIK the HDMI cable is the only cable which supports the HD resolution.

Astroth
23-01-2008, 01:30 PM
If you want to watch HD, you need a DVI or HDMI-interface.
RGB scart have worse quality than component.

Eidriaen
23-01-2008, 02:22 PM
Ah, wasnt aware you could get em in HDMI, kewl

Eidriaen
23-01-2008, 02:30 PM
Checked around a bit, there's no such thing as HDMI for Wii, or DVI.

You need a component cable for the best possible resolution, there's nothing better

Hevn
23-01-2008, 02:47 PM
Actually, yes, component does support HD. As do HDMI and DVI. The Wii just doesn't output in HD, but choosing a component output means you can still get better quality than scart or composite even when you can't output at HD quality.

Eidriaen
23-01-2008, 03:19 PM
RGB, component, DVI and HDMI and VGA all support High Def, suxy nubs :P

Just with Wii only component cable works, because it wont allow you to use teh HD option unless you use component