Log in

View Full Version : Unitframes


Eidriaen
01-10-2007, 06:03 PM
Just a little tip for anything who might be looking for a new unitframe mod

http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info5468-ag_UnitFrames.html

Love em! In addition to being completely adjustable frames in any way, they will highlight if you/or your party are debuffed(i.e. poisoned, diseased or cursed) in different colors so you'll notice right away.

So far the best unitframes I've found, you can also get different frames/graphics for the bars so you can get your own unique look ;)

Will post a picture of my ui when I get off work, even (since its SSE) I risk getting flamed for using such an "easy" mod :P

Coldpwa
01-10-2007, 07:14 PM
Get PitBull instead

Theleb
01-10-2007, 10:33 PM
Get PitBull instead

+1

Ace2 generally for the win.

Gumdrops
01-10-2007, 10:39 PM
Get PitBull instead

+2

Thrane
01-10-2007, 11:31 PM
+1

Ace2 generally for the win.

You do realise aguf is ace'd too, right?

Firesoul
02-10-2007, 12:33 AM
Aye both unitframe addons are fine from what I've seen. Pitbull's just more customisable.

Theleb
02-10-2007, 07:55 AM
You do realise aguf is ace'd too, right?

Yeah, I just hate it but thats a personal preference kind of deal - its still a useable add-on based on Ace2 which lead to the "generally for the win" comment.

Coldpwa
02-10-2007, 01:57 PM
PitBull's basically an advancement to agUF

Thrane
02-10-2007, 02:45 PM
PitBull's basically an advancement to agUF

Drains a lot more memory too :P

Sybbie
02-10-2007, 02:52 PM
Tbh if u like that type ul enjoy pitbull more. i use pitbull and im pretty pleased. Used x-pearl before and i liked it but takes toooo much memoy.so in the end...its pitbull ftw

Coldpwa
02-10-2007, 06:13 PM
Drains a lot more memory too :P

Yeah, true, but you can disable modules you don't use (if any) :P

Flawless
02-10-2007, 10:21 PM
I use AGuf as Im too lazy to config pitbull properly. AG is a breeze to do imo.

Psonica
03-10-2007, 05:01 AM
Drains a lot more memory too :P
Since when was addon memory a problem ... oh, maybe if you try and run the game with 512MB ram. Blizzard even removed where you could limit the memory sucked up by addons.

Pitbull is a resource hog in many ways though...

Eidriaen
08-10-2007, 02:41 PM
Tbh if u like that type ul enjoy pitbull more. i use pitbull and im pretty pleased. Used x-pearl before and i liked it but takes toooo much memoy.so in the end...its pitbull ftw

Will look into pitbull, used x-pearl myself, and liked it - just thought Ag_unitframes looked cooler :)

flyto1
09-10-2007, 09:58 AM
Note that Pitbull is no longer Ace2.
ckk has taken all his mods to his own library called Rock.

Arthran
09-10-2007, 10:08 AM
rock is part of ace2 :P

flyto1
09-10-2007, 10:30 AM
rock is part of ace2 :P

Well, it's in the ace2 SVN repository, but so far as I can tell it is an alternate set of libraries that performs the same functions as Ace2...

Arthran
09-10-2007, 10:31 AM
strange, if you use wowace updater it auto-installs a mod called rock, which is a general configuation window for all ace addons, could simply be that and they are centralising the library's within that

flyto1
09-10-2007, 10:47 AM
strange, if you use wowace updater it auto-installs a mod called rock, which is a general configuation window for all ace addons, could simply be that and they are centralising the library's within that

No. Rock is an alternative to Ace2, written by CKK, and a rival to the as-yet-unfinished Ace3. As part of it he has written his own configuration interface, which I believe is the only way to configure Rock addons. A couple of versions in, he added the ability for Rock Config to configure Ace2 mods as well. A lot of people are confused.... and I have a sneaking suspicion that rock may be something to do with my recent slowdown in frame rates... :-(

The Rock stuff will have been automagically installed if you use any of the addons that now require it - off the top of my head these are Pitbull, Parrot, TinyTips, Cartographer, and possibly other stuff.

Psonica
09-10-2007, 12:45 PM
Haven't seen any difference in framerates in the Ace2 -> LibRock switch so far. Somethings are better than before and some are worse so status quo is in place again...

flyto1
09-10-2007, 12:58 PM
Haven't seen any difference in framerates in the Ace2 -> LibRock switch so far.

Meh. May be 2.2's fault instead then... they pretty much coincided for me due to a week away.
Shame, I was hoping that moving to different unit frames might help... I shall try that on the next raid anyway... healing reaction times aren't all that good at 12fps:(

mic
29-11-2007, 11:31 PM
pitbull for tah win!